Counting days

So as previously mentioned a few posts back I was looking to move to and work in Japan. This has now escalated to happening in the next couple of weeks.

I have a job teaching English, I have a visa so I can do it legally, I have a flight and I have a place to stay. I’ve even managed to pack all my stuff and pretend to be a very organised person!

It is a little weird though. Even though it is no longer a pipedream and in a matter of weeks I’m going to be on the other side of the planet, surrounded by people who speak an entirely different language.  Not to mention the fact that there are so many worst case scenarios to choose from should it all go wrong. Yet I don’t really feel nervous about it.

Sure I’m a little excited, but it feels like I’m just going through the motions of booking a holiday. I’m expecting the full impact to hit me either when I get on the plane and start yelling incoherently and questioning everything about my sanity or possibly a month or so into my stay. Either way I’ll let you guys know, as I’ve found it very useful to see how different people have coped with such a large life change and hopefully adding my own experience to that will make for a better data set.

So if you are a sarcastic geek looking to move to Japan, the next month on here is likely to provide you with a lot of interesting information on how to survive the move, assuming I do in fact survive the move. If not, this will at least be a handy what not to do guide.

Leave a Reply

